With your individual Content Supply Chain
you finally have everything in view

The concept of the supply chain generally encompasses the interaction of companies to achieve joint success in the creation of value. It includes both upstream and downstream processes. Transferred to the specialization of the Content Supply Chain, which fundamentally supports eBusiness in the form of eProcurement and eCommerce, we as nexoma define the Content Supply Chain as three process steps:

Data procurement, data refinement and data distribution

Data acquisition and
onboarding of product data

Manufacturers developed products! During this process – Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) – the product data is built up, supplemented and adapted. Here the content results from the upstream processes, mostly within the organization. It is also possible to have data and information from participating upstream suppliers who contribute product data for parts or components.

Retailers, on the other hand, do not develop products in the classic sense, but trade in them. Therefore, retailers are dependent on content from manufacturers or industry platforms (e.g. SHK industry portal) and associations (e.g. E/D/E, Northwest).

Regardless of which source the content comes from – often consisting of product data, images, certificates and instructions – the data must undergo a quality check in an upstream process. This guarantees that valid and quality-checked data is used for product data refinement in the PIM.

Once the data has been checked, it is usually necessary to transform the content. The subsequent systems each process different formats (e.g. BMEcat), data structures (e.g. ETIM, eCl@ss) and contents. The entire process, from supplier onboarding and content delivery to checking and value-level checking and data transformation, is handled by an upstream system, in our case the supplier portal XS-Supplier-Portal, ideally fully automated!

Systems and software for the
Product data acquisition, processing and refinement

Product data collection, product data processing and product data refinement are either carried out in a dedicated system or in a broad system landscape.
As a rule, every company already uses an ERP system that supports the business management processes. Assets (media data) are stored separately. However, product information management systems (PIM) such as PIMCORE are specialized in the collection, processing and refinement of product data and sometimes integrate the management of digital assets (DAM).

The PIM is used to maintain information that is crucial for e-commerce and all other downstream stages of the content supply chain. This can include keywords for marketplaces, pure marketing content such as catalogues or price lists for defined customers.

Data distribution from the PIM:
Using product data profitably

In the context of data distribution, organizations must be able to make the data from the PIM system available to any interested party. The so-called data stakeholders are, for example, your:
– direct B2B customers, resellers or the classic (specialist) retailers,
– marketplaces where your products are traded or
– Platforms on which you make your content available for further use.

Each of these data stakeholders has individual content requirements. This begins with the type of provision (for example, via FTP, mail, API/interface), includes the definition of the assortment and does not end with the adaptation of the data structures from the PIM system. Although these tasks can be solved with a great deal of manual effort, they increase the internal effort, but especially the time-to-market. Manual activities usually increase the error-proneness and reliability of the data.

In terms of customer experience the content must be adapted individually and promptly to each data recipient. Such content individualizations are for example related to:
– Data formats (BMEcat, XML derivatives, Excel xlsx),
– Media selection (image type, image sizes),
– assortment (full or partial assortment),
– classification (ETIM or eCl@ss),
– attributes (keywords, user defined extensions) and
– Attribute values (long description HTML formatted or continuous text)

After preparing the content for the customers, the data must be checked again. The following data export from your systems and the data transfer is, in the best case, carried out automatically – according to customer requirements. The CatalogExpress software takes over these tasks for you and adapts to the requirements of your customers. You configure the electronic catalogue with just a few clicks.

In search of new customers – as the top pillar in your content supply chain

To sum up: Importance of the content for your business?

Content is the trump card in any (e)business. Product data, logistics information, prices, images, videos, instructions or even text variants, keywords and classifications are components of highly qualified content.

The content supply chain usually involves retailers and manufacturers. Market places, platforms and shops are also part of the data flow and “live” from product data.

Without content tailored to the target, your products will not be found at the retailer, on the marketplace, in the shops and on platforms. Success in eCommerce will not happen and the competitor will be in front of you in the search results.

A focus on your content supply chain and your product data avoids this and promotes your sales directly, promised!

In search of new customers – as the top pillar in your supply chain: You want to know more?

Then send us directly an

Mit Ihrer individuellen Content Supply Chain
haben Sie endlich alles im Blick

Das Konzept der Supply Chain, also Lieferkette oder Liefernetzwerk, umfasst im Allgemeinen das Zusammenspiel von Unternehmen, um gemeinsamen Erfolg in der Wertschöpfung zu erlangen. Sie umfasst sowohl vor- als auch nachgelagerte Prozesse. Übertragen auf die Spezialisierung der Content Supply Chain, welche das eBusiness in Form von eProcurement und eCommerce grundlegend unterstützt, definieren wir als nexoma die Content Supply Chain als drei Prozessschritte:

 

Datenbeschaffung, Datenveredelung und Datendistribution

Datenbeschaffung und
Onboarding von Produktdaten

Hersteller entwickelten Produkte! Während dieses Prozesses – Product-Lifecycle-Management (PLM) – werden die Produktdaten aufgebaut, ergänzt und angepasst. Hier resultiert der Content aus den vorgelagerten Prozessen, meist innerhalb der Organisation. Möglich sind auch Daten und Informationen von beteiligten Vorlieferanten, die Produktdaten für Bauteile oder Komponenten beisteuern.

 

Händler hingegen entwickeln im klassischen Sinne keine Produkte, sondern handeln mit diesen. Daher sind die Händler auf den Content von Herstellern oder auch von Branchenplattformen (z. B. SHK-Branchenportal) und Verbänden (z. B. E/D/E, Nordwest) angewiesen.

Unabhängig davon aus welcher Quelle der Content – häufig bestehend aus Produktdaten, Bildern, Zertifikaten und Anleitungen – kommt, müssen die Daten in einem vorgelagerten Prozess eine Qualitätsprüfung durchlaufen. So wird garantiert, dass bei der Produktdatenveredelung im PIM auf valide und qualitätsgeprüfte Daten zurückgegriffen wird.

 

Nach der Prüfung der Daten ist es in der Regel notwendig, dass der Content transformiert wird. Die Folgesysteme verarbeiten jeweils unterschiedliche Formate (z. B. BMEcat), Datenstrukturen (z. B. ETIM, eCl@ss) und Inhalte. Den gesamten Prozess vom Lieferanten-Onboarding und der Contentanlieferung über die Prüfung bis auf Wertebene hin zur Datentransformation übernimmt ein vorgelagertes System, in unserem Fall das Lieferantenportal XS-Supplier-Portal, idealerweise vollautomatisiert!

Systeme und Software für die
Produktdatenerfassung, -bearbeitung und -veredelung

Die Produktdatenerfassung, Produktdatenbearbeitung und Produktdatenveredelung erfolgen entweder in einem dedizierten System oder in einer breiten Systemlandschaft.
Im Regelfall wird bereits in jedem Unternehmen ein ERP-System eingesetzt, welches die betriebswirtschaftlichen Prozesse (Geschäftsprozesse) unterstützt. Assets (Mediendaten) werden separat abgelegt. Jedoch sind Product Information Management-Systeme (PIM) wie zum Beispiel PIMCORE auf die Erfassung, Bearbeitung und Veredelung der Produktdaten spezialisiert und binden teilweise die Verwaltung von Digital Assets (DAM) mit ein.

 

Im PIM werden Informationen gepflegt, die für den eCommerce aber eben auch alle anderen nachgelagerten Stufen der Content Lieferkette entscheidend sind. Das können unter anderem Keywords für Marktplätze, reiner Marketing-Content wie Kataloge oder Preislisten für definierte Kunden sein.

Datendistribution aus dem PIM:
Produktdaten gewinnbringend einsetzen

Organisationen müssen im Rahmen der Datendistribution in der Lage sein, die Daten aus dem PIM-System jedem Interessenten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die sogenannten Datenstakeholder sind z. B. Ihre:
– direkten B2B-Kunden, Wiederverkäufer oder die klassischen (Fach-)Händler,
– Marktplätze, auf denen Ihre Produkte gehandelt werden oder
– Plattformen, auf denen Sie Ihren Content für die weitere Nutzung zur Verfügung stellen.

 

Jeder dieser Datenstakeholder hat individuelle Anforderungen an den Content. Das beginnt bei der Art der Bereitstellung (z. B. per FTP, Mail, API/Schnittstelle), umfasst die Festlegung des Sortiments und endet noch nicht bei der Anpassung der Datenstrukturen aus dem PIM-System. Mit hohem manuellem Aufwand lassen sich diese Aufgaben zwar lösen, jedoch erhöht sich dadurch der interne Aufwand, aber insbesondere auch die Time-to-Market. Manuelle Tätigkeiten erhöhen in der Regel die Fehleranfälligkeit und Verlässlichkeit der Daten; d.h. auch die Datenqualität sinkt.

 

Im Sinne der Customer Experience muss der Content auf jeden Datenempfänger individuell und zeitnah angepasst werden. Solche Contentindividualisierungen sind beispielsweise bezogen auf:
– Datenformate (BMEcat, XML-Derivate, Excel xlsx),
– Medienauswahl (Bildart, Bildgrößen),
– Sortiment (Voll- oder Teilsortiment),
– Klassifikation (ETIM oder eCl@ss),
– Attribute (Keywords, User Defined Extensions) und
– Attributwerte (Langbeschreibung HTML-formatiert oder Fließtext)

 

Nach der Aufbereitung des Contents für die Kunden müssen die Daten wiederum geprüft werden. Der folgende Datenexport aus Ihren Systemen und die Datenübertragung erfolgt im besten Fall automatisch – und zwar gemäß Kundenwunsch. Die Software CatalogExpress übernimmt diese Aufgaben für Sie und passt sich den Anforderungen Ihrer Kunden an. Sie konfigurieren den elektronischen Katalog nur noch mit ein paar Klicks.

Auf der Suche nach neuen Kunden – als oberster Pfeiler in Ihrer Content Supply Chain

Zusammengefasst: Bedeutung des Contents für Ihr Business?

Content ist der Trumpf in jedem (e)Business. Produktdaten, Logistikinformationen, Preise, Bilder, Videos, Anleitungen oder auch Textvarianten, Keywords und Klassifikationen sind Bestandteile von hoch qualifiziertem Content.

An der Content Supply Chain sind in der Regel Händler und Hersteller, also Kunden und Lieferanten beteiligt. Auch Marktplätze, Plattformen und Shops sind Teil des Datenflusses und „leben“ von Produktdaten.

Ohne auf das Ziel abgestimmten Content werden Ihre Produkte nicht beim Händler, auf dem Marktplatz, in den Shops und auf Plattformen gefunden. Der Erfolg im eCommerce bleibt aus und der Wettbewerber steht in den Suchergebnissen vor Ihnen.

Ein Fokus auf Ihre Content Supply Chain und Ihre Produktdaten vermeidet dies und fördert Ihren Umsatz direkt, versprochen!

 

Auf der Suche nach neuen Kunden – als oberster Pfeiler in Ihrer Supply Chain: Sie wollen mehr erfahren?

Dann senden Sie uns direkt eine